2008 Chateau Couronneau Blanc


couronneauvines
I am really looking forward to reading this email tomorrow when I will have a different perspective on things. Touch wood, I am having a banner week. And as I write this, I am in the middle of the pinnacle of said week. I have been a fan of the band Wilco since their first disc “AM”, released back in ’95. Well, I saw them last night, and in a word, it was epic. I will have the great pleasure of seeing them again this evening at the Greek Theater. So, as I have been feeling most of this week, I’m in the middle of a dream. Other highlights from this week were several meals shared with loved ones: one with my mother and sister, another with my best friend and his 9 year old daughter (I’m so lucky to be her favorite of Dad’s friends), one with my other best friend, another with just my sister, followed by a dinner with my brother. There was a killer jam session (which caused minor bleeding) on Wednesday night and now the Wilco shows! As if I needed anything else, this week also brought me one of my favorite gifts here at work, NEW WINE!

I took a look at the list of new arrivals from our recent container, jumped for joy, and immediately made a beeline to the box containing the 2008 Chateau Couronneau Blanc! I pulled out a bottle and put it in the cold box excited to taste the brand new vintage. Chances are, if you have been anywhere near a conversation that I was having about wine, White Bordeaux would inevitably have come up. I guess I’ve been pretty excited by these wines for a while now. I fondly remember my visit to the chateau last spring; it was the only hot afternoon of the trip, seafood of all shapes and sizes were placed in front of me, and the crisp Sauvignon was just what the doctor ordered.

It has been said, “If you’re not learning, you’re not on to something, and to not be on to something is to be lost.” So what’s a dream week without a little learning? I am certainly a wine geek. So, this is the kind of stuff that really gets me going. It seems that the Piats make this wine with 100% Sauvignon. Upon further examination, I discovered that it was actually 50% Sauvignon Blanc and 50% Sauvignon Gris. Aha! What’s that all about Christophe? A little investigation into this yielded some interesting information. Sauvignon Gris is also known as Sauvignon Rose as its skin is often pink in color. It is known for tiny yields which are responsible for grapes with a higher sugar content, thus resulting in wines with more complex aromas that make beautiful music together with the vibrant Sauvignon Blanc. Historically, the low yields were responsible for many of the vines being uprooted in favor of more fecund varieties. It seems that Sauvignon Gris is making a comeback, particularly in the Loire Valley, and, of course, Bordeaux. It is also popping up in the New World as well; in Chile and even some domestic locales. I guess winemakers the world over are picking up on what can be done with this grape.

So there you go, we’ve got the 2008 Chateau Couronneau Blanc in stock. It’s a great example of what a 50/50 blend of Sauvignon Blanc and Sauvignon Gris is all about, and it’s just $13.98 per bottle! Please excuse my exuberance, I’m not one to have a very good poker face, so when things are going well, I tend to glow. Hmmm, I think I might buy a lottery ticket tonight. Yes, it will be interesting to read this email tomorrow. As I wrote in a song once, “If it’s a dream, baby keep me asleep, I want to be here ’til the end of time.”Peter Zavialoff


piatsTasting Notes:

Pale straw color, the initial aromatics include lemon blossom, grapefruit, savory herbs, a hint of dark rum, and gravelly soil. It’s rather like a breath of fresh air. On the palate, it starts out round and rich with fleshy, white stone fruit followed by tangy acidity turned citrus fruit and fades with the fruit and acid components wrapped around each other like Wilco’s bass and lead guitar. So glad to have this in the shop. Oh yeah, the sample bottle was still drinking well 3 days later …
Leave a comment

Filed under 2008 Bordeaux, Bordeaux, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

