2009 Bordeaux Within Reason

Hi. Every other week around this time, I sit down and tell you all about a wine that I particularly fancy. It’s always a fun exercise, as reliving a tasting experience makes one recall good company and general good vibe. I thought it would be an interesting change of pace to give you a peek at a private conversation I had this week with a close friend of mine. You see, in the past couple of weeks, we have seen the release of pricing for some of the big players of Bordeaux. We are actively purchasing them, and trying desperately to maintain our allocations, but it’s getting tough. I just received an email from a competitor that had to settle for 2nd tranche pricing for 2009 Lynch Bages, and let’s just say the price is far higher than I would ever guess. This got me to thinking. There are plenty of quality Red Bordeaux out there (I should know; I DID taste them!) that will be relatively easy on the pocketbook AND treasured in any cellar. So I started thinking about using that concept for this weekend’s write-up, but then I had an email exchange with one of my closest pals, and thought, “What if I just use this?” I’m not being lazy here, I just thought it would be interesting to share a more casual interaction with all of you. So without further ado, here you go:

All
Wines Expected 2012/2013 

Email from my friend:
“Yo,
Great jam last night, definitely work on that Knopfler tune for next time. Great wine too, btw, I needs to get in on that futures action you were talking about. Of course, I wish I would have bot more 2005’s from you, but we did ok. So yeah, under 300 a case, I’ll do up to 5. Where you watching the footy on Sunday?”

My email response:
“Nice. That’s what I’m talking about. The famous wines are great, don’t get me wrong, but these wines are going to be so much fun to drink that quantity is going to be tres important. I’m just going to issue you a case each of the following, you can thank me later …

Chateau de Francs les Cerisiers Cotes de Francs? Really? Yup. Considering the fact that you have Lewis Merlot in your cellar, you should just own a case of this. It’s better wine, and you can buy 5 bottles for the price of one Lewis. It is probably the most structured red wine I’ve EVER had at this price point. My notes conclude with ‘Cheapy for the cellar?’ Buck-fitty a case? No brainer.

Chateau Larrivaux, Haut Medoc Back up the truck. Like I was saying, ’09 left bank wines have got it all, you really could do this blindfolded … ‘Got depth and complexity; terrific balance of fruit and mineral, spice, yes … but long harmonious finish!’ This was one of the ones that stuck out for me on that first day of tasting at the negoc’s.

Chateau Clauzet, St Estephe Okay, so it’s not Cos or Montrose (or even Lafon Rochet), but it’s St Estephe, and you know what? It tastes like it!! Rich fruity aromas with hints of anise and mineral; elegant and medium weight, it has enough structure and balance to go the distance. 20 buck? A case of this is cheaper than what 1 bottle of Cos is going to be!

Chateau Tour de By I’ve talked about this one before, but this would be choice numero uno. There’s only one wine out of hundreds that I tasted this year that has the word “LIVE” written next to it with an arrow pointing to the chateau name. Old school funky mineral thing. Case for you.

Chateau Potensac At 25 bucks, I wouldn’t exactly call it expensive, but it’s the top of what I’m getting for you. When tasting at Leoville Las Cases, one must always remember to stay focused on what’s in the glass, and not wander off thinking about the Clos du Marquis and the Grand Vin. Funny, this one has a star drawn next to it. Check it – ‘Pure, racy cassis fruit w/licorice; woodspice-well integrated, forest floor … (Palate)dark, full body, intensely concentrated, focused and meant to be laid down a little while; savory robe, velvety tannins, acid pushes extra long finish, wow!’ You may want 2 cases of this one, let me know.

PS Footy on Sunday at the Mayflower, Cote d’Ivoire/Brazil … should be a cracker!”
P

So there you have it. One of me best mates asks the question, and there’s the answer. Keep in mind that when making these recommendations to friends, I have it somewhere in the back of my mind that the chances are good that I’ll be sitting at the table when some of these bottles are popped. Red wine lovers the world over will someday regret not buying enough 2009’s, I’m sure of that. How are you all enjoying the World Cup so far? – Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me with any questions or comments regarding Bordeaux, or the World Cup: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

 

PRE-ARRIVAL TERMS OF SALE: Payment terms are 5 days from the date of order. You may request different format bottling for your order, there is a surcharge of $24 per case for half bottles and magnums and $50 per case for 3 liter format. Larger sizes available upon request. In the event our bottling order is not followed by the chateaux, the customer agrees to accept the 750ml format with a refund of any bottling supplements paid. There is a 10% restocking fee for all pre-arrival and futures orders that are cancelled by the customer. Prices are subject to change without any notice, from minute to minute. Once an order is confirmed, price quoted is honored for five days. If payment is not processed in five days, we will cancel your order. The ONLY WAY to ensure current pricing and inventory is to talk to us. While we will keep it as up to date as possible, the website DOES NOT represent real-time pricing or inventory. We reserve the right to refuse any sale that does not represent our current pricing. Please call 415.355.9463 or 800.966.8468.
Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 Bordeaux, Bordeaux, French Wine, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

