2008 Domaine d’Orfeuilles Vouvray “Les Coudraies”


Come gather young people wherever you roam … Yes, change is in the air. Some exciting and some not so exciting. Let’s just say that the new credit card machine that has our staff grumbling is not so exciting. What is exciting, to all of us here at TWH, is the anticipation of NEW WINE! And lots of it! Remember the rumors of containers on the water? After a couple of brief delays (striking dock-workers in France, what else?), we’ve got a FULL CONTAINER ready to dock, chock-full of goodies that we will be able to offer you in about a week’s time! A recent sneak peak shipment revealed a wine I have a personal love affair with: The 2008 Domaine d’Orfeuilles Vouvray “Les Courdraies”. You know, the same folks that brought you the wonderful sparkling Vouvray and, of course, their sparkling Rose!

I’ve got to say, I’ve had issues with change. I don’t want to get too philosophical here, but I recognize the good and bad in it. Being a wine-geek, I have changing tastes and love trying new and different wines. Sometimes, I can be indifferent; sometimes disappointed (must manage expectations … but that’s for another email); but usually, I am pleased. Sometimes, I become elated. That’s pretty much what happened when I first tasted the “Les Coudriaes” Vouvray from Domaine d’Orfeuilles!

I don’t know why this is, but I heart spicy food. No, really. Big time; seriously, spicy with heat. There aren’t two days in a row that go by when I don’t have some kind of hot pepper fix. This passion, when combined with my overall wine geekyness, has opened me up to a whole new level of experimentation. Q: Hot and spicy food? A: Sweeter wines. They don’t have to be over the top, bursting with sugar; but just like everything else, a little goes a long way. Take this demi-sec Vouvray. It exhibits an abundance of complexity beginning with the aromatics. Honeysuckle, granite-like mineral, peachy stone fruit, and melon. The mouth feel is seamless in its balance of the aforementioned complexities combined with a subtle sweetness, and a vibrancy that pinches the inside of your mouth like marmalade. A swirl and sip of the 2008 Domaine d’Orfeuilles Vouvray “Les Coudraies” is exactly the way to follow a spicy fish taco … or Henry Hunan’s Harvest Pork … or Brandy Ho’s Sauteed Squid In Black Bean Sauce! Dang! Now I’m hungry again … the pitfalls of the wine world.

I’ll ease off here and tell you change is good. And exciting. The English Premiership kicks off soon, much has changed there. A week from today, we’ll have the annual Charity Shield match-up at Wembley. I’m rooting against change there. But in the wine world, we can’t wait until we see the fruits of the new container’s bounty dispersed throughout our shop! 2006 Bordeaux. 2007 Bordeaux. 2008 Burgundy. 2009 Cru Beaujolais, and plenty of other goodies. Ben once told me that Vouvray ages very well and that I should sock some away in the cellar. My problem is I need to sock a lot away, because I can’t keep my hands off the stuff right now!Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me with any questions or comments regarding hot and spicy food, wines to pair with them, English Football, or Vouvray for the cellar: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under French Wine, Peter Zavialoff, Spicy food

Leave a Reply

