2005 Crozes-Hermitage Cuvee Louis Belle – Domaine Belle

Howdy! I hope your Thanksgiving weekends all went well. Mine was stellar, as I hit the trifecta, celebrating with family and friends. Now that December has begun, unfortunately, we are going to have to begin winding down our 33rd Anniversary Sale. 😦

Again, we would like to thank you all, our customers, for allowing us to serve your vinous needs throughout the year. You all are truly a gift for us; and our gift to you in return is that magical month of November where we slash prices on some pretty special bottles! We have extended the sale this year through next Sunday, December 12. It’s not too late; give us a call or come on by, we’re standing by to help.

We may have mentioned a sale wine or two in our recent Sunday emails, and the list of great deals is a long one, but I’ve noticed a spectacular wine on sale that none of us are talking about … not even to each other. What’s interesting to note is that in spite of not talking about it, I’ve noticed a few bottles on many employees’ personal invoices. Hmmm. The 2005 Crozes-Hermitage Cuvee Louis Belle from Domaine Belle could very well be the best of the “secret wines” on this year’s sale list. From a great northern Rhone vintage, this 100% Syrah is made from the oldest vines of the Belle’s Les Pierrelles vineyard (average 40 years old). It gets 30% new barrel treatment (the balance 1-year old) to add spice and texture to the smoky Syrah. This is fancy wine, folks! It’s considered their Reserve bottling, and named for the current proprietor’s late grandfather. All in all, I find it insanely good! The aromas are that of dense, dark, smoky purple fruit and forest floor. On the palate, it has a lush, silky mouth feel, its tannins melt into spicy fruit and the acidity picks all of that up on the finish which is quite long. Yes, fancy wine. I would have no problem opening this one for any V.I.P., anytime. But hey, I don’t hang around with V.I.P.’s, that’s just not the way I roll. Though, especially in light of the great interactions that took place on Thanksgiving, I do hang around with V.I.P.’s … because my friends and family are all very important … to me!

With all of the celebrations expected to take place between now and January, you’d be doing yourself a solid to have a bottle or two of this to wow your V.I.P.’s! Speaking of January, I am still working on all of the logistics for a dinner/pairing event featuring Chateau Coutet’s own Aline Baly, pairing her wines from Barsac with savory cuisine. I’ve got quite a list of interested parties. If you would like to be added to the list, please contact me. The event(s) will take place January 17th or 18th (or both). Don’t miss out on this unique opportunity! – Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me if you would like to share your Thanksgiving stories, be added to the list of interested parties for the Chateau Coutet event(s) in January, or to commiserate with me about the current state of The Blues: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under French Wine, Peter Zavialoff, Rhone

Leave a Reply

