2008 Lamarche Hautes-Cotes de Nuits

Whew! Things sure have been exciting around here these days. Each day my inbox is full of Bordeaux Futures offers; we’re on top of the situation, as many of you have let us know which chateaux may be of interest, and we are buying accordingly. (If you are interested in any particular 2010 Futures and haven’t let us know, please do. No obligation, especially in light of the sensitivity of pricing!) The campaign has just begun, look for more offerings regularly over the next 6 weeks. Anyway, it’s all Bordeaux in my world these days. (You should see the living room in the treehouse right now.) But thanks to the arrival of a recent container, I’ve discovered a more than fairly priced gem of a wine from France’s other “Big-B”, Burgundy!

Having started here at TWH in the month of February several years ago, I was immediately regaled by coworkers with tales from the most recent holiday party. Unlike some corporate holiday parties, the tales were not about who did what, but were about what they drank. Being the Burgundy novice I was at the time, I was immediately interested in a name that kept popping up, Domaine Francois Lamarche. The first thing that interested me was that their prized vineyard is the monopole “La Grande Rue” situated between La Tache and La Romanee Conti! You don’t need to be able to read French to know that’s a pretty valuable piece of property! Anyhoo, that new container had the latest Lamarche releases on it! Sure, for you collectors, we’ve got the fancy Premiers and Grand Cru wines. Something new for us this year is the 2008 Bourgogne Hautes-Cotes de Nuits.


We’re always on the lookout for great deals. That’s particularly tricky when it comes to Red Burgundy. I have to say that I was pretty psyched when I took the 2008 Lamarche Hautes-Cotes de Nuits out for a ride! For me, it started when I cut the foil. I still use the corkscrew that Morgan Twain Peterson accidentally left here when he poured us some samples a couple of years ago. As I lifted the foil off, I saw the top of the cork spotted with something moldy. Before anyone gags, it should be known that Burgundy is cold. Damp. Dark. When you store bottles in these conditions, mold will grow on the corks. When I saw those spots, I got romantic … ah, Burgundy. A quick pour in my glass and swirl revealed dazzling Old World aromatics of cedar, tobacco, cherry cola fruit, incense, and a healthy dose of earth. On the palate, it is distinctly Old World in style. More of that woodsy-ness, with bright red fruit reminiscent of that fruity/tart crunch of fresh raspberries. It has lively acidity that almost makes you miss the earthiness, but oh, it’s there. The finish is soft, mellow, and balanced. There is white pepper, then the soft raspberry, strawberry fruit that stays with you a long, long time. So yes, to me, this wine is long on character; very long. I can see why David said yes to this one, that’s for sure. I’m thinking that there’s a rotisserie chicken with grilled artichokes and a bottle of 2008 Bourgogne Hautes-Cotes de Nuits from Domaine Francois Lamarche in my near future!


Ah Sunday. A day off. A day to just hang out and to try not thinking about Bordeaux. It’s difficult for me. I even have dreams about Bordeaux. It beats nightmares. But dreaming about work is not necessarily what I would call a healthy practice. Hmmm. One sure-fire way to not dream about Bordeaux? Drink some Burgundy before dinner. That’s what I’m doing! Sante!Peter Zavialoff

Leave a comment

Filed under Burgundy, Cote de Nuits, French Wine, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

