Saint Antoine 2010 Rosé

*Chateau Coutet Dinner Reminder: A precious few spots are available for our upcoming Bastille Day Dinner with Aline Baly of Chateau Coutet at Range Restaurant! Won’t you join us for a multi-course tour de force of flavor and texture? Click here for details!

…plaisirs d’été
Saint Antoine’s 2010 Rosé is that perfect combination of cheery fruit with a fresh clean finish. Take a sip, close your eyes and you’ll be transported to a place where you can smell that Mistral wind bringing with it aromas of dried leaves, lavender and warm baked sunshine. It’s a summer holiday in a glass. I debated whether or not to choose Saint Antoine’s Rosé as my ‘pick of the week’ for the simple reason that it’s the Rosé we have the least in inventory. It arrived early in spring, so it’s been around longer than some of the Rosés that have what I would describe as having a cult-like following like the Touraine Rosé from Domaine Corbillieres and the L’Instant Rosé from Domaine Fondreche who were late arrivals from France. The Touraine Rosé and L’Instant Rosé are without a doubt some of the most sophisticated, refined Rosés on the market. But if I am being absolutely honest, then I must admit to enjoying Saint Antoine’s 2010 Rosé most this season. It’s not easy picking a favorite among THW’s Rosés. I have frustrated many a customer when I get absolutely tongue-tied when asked which Rosé is best. My answer is always the same: they are all good but each has its own personality and flavor profile. A boring predictable answer perhaps, but the truth. So which Rosé do I go home with 9 out 10 times? The 2010 Rosé from Saint Antoine. And here’s why. I like a Rosé with a fruitier profile. It must finish dry and the Saint Antoine does, but I want that strawberry, Jolly Rancher watermelon, tangy cherry fruit too. On my birthday last month, for appetizers I served the 2010 Rosé with an assortment of Fra’Mani salumi, almonds and sliced green pluots. What a symphony of flavors!

I just spent a long Fourth of July weekend with family on the Russian River. It was one of the most uneventful Fourths I’ve spent in about five years and I am most thankful for that. I had such a great time and was so in the moment that I completely forgot about work, projects, all the things I’ve got to get done, etc. And it was at that point that I got to wondering how it is that when you are completely relaxed things just taste different. I learned that an ice cold Bud Light tastes delicious when sitting at the bow of a boat in 100 degree temperatures in the middle of a lake. How could this be? And a simple $10 Rosé can taste symphonic when you’ve got loved ones around to share it. The lesson to take away here is that if you stop and take the time to smell the Rosés, life gets a whole lot better!Anya Balistreri

Leave a comment

Filed under Anya Balistreri, Costieres de Nimes, French Wine, Rose

Leave a Reply

