2010 Chateau d’Or et des Gueules Rose les Cimels

San Francisco, USA. October 29,2011. It is beautiful outside. Yes, this is OUR summer. This is what we expect, what we prepare for. Now it is known that there has been snow falling in other places around the country this week, and by no means do I mean to gloat. Please remember that when July and August roll around it is NOT summer in SF. We are usually socked in with fog and temps seldom exceed 57F. So maybe the SF summer weather is responsible for today’s Rosé sales. Whatever the reason, I’ve been extolling the virtues of Rosé to many a customer today, and it made me think. I really love Rosé. A customer told me today, “Rosé season is coming to an end.” There’s no such thing as Rosé season. Sure a nice cool, crisp glass of pink wine on a warm evening is lovely. And it was during my first trip to the south of France where I discovered the stuff. But saying that Rosé is only for summer is tantamount to saying Sauternes are just for foie gras. And we know that’s just not true.

 

I’ve gone on the record somewhere proclaiming my favorite Rosé amongst our 2010’s: Château d’Or et des Gueules les Cimels Rosé. I like it because it’s crisp, it has nuances of herbs, blossoms, and a kiss of strawberry. If you would like more details, Anya wrote it up nicely when it first arrived. As I explained to my “Rosé season” customer, I have a small kitchen. When I’ve got 2 burners and the oven going, it gets pretty warm pretty fast. A sip of cool Cimels Rosé is so refreshing, it keeps me focused on juggling pots from burners to plates, all in the right time. Often times, I am invited to visit friends for lunch or dinner, and at the time of invite, it’s never disclosed as to what the meal may consist of. I would feel weird (and probably make my hosts uncomfortable too) showing up with a white Châteauneuf-du-Pape only to find out we’re having tri-tip sandwiches. Or vise-versa, bringing a red Bordeaux blend over to a fish fry wouldn’t reflect well on me nor whom I represent. My solution is simple, bring Rosé. There is never a bad time nor occasion for a cool glass of pink wine. You know, come to think of it, there is a holiday coming up next month that is known for having a somewhat gluttonous feast. The flavors and textures of the traditional Thanksgiving Day spread can be difficult to pair with wine. So as I said when I ran into my next-door-neighbors (who know I’m in the wine biz) at the farmers’ market during Thanksgiving week 4 years ago, just pour Rosé, you’ll be fine. Sure you can get much fancier, and if that’s how you want to roll, I won’t stop you. You can invite me over if you like. I greatly enjoy helping people pour fancy wines. But I have a humble background, so just know that Rosé works with just about anything.

 

Okay, hold it. It is still October here, let’s not get ahead of ourselves. On my drive to work today, I saw a woman dressed as a cat, some dude decked out like Hugh Hefner in a silk robe with a young blonde woman by his side, and here at TWH, we were paid a visit by The Incredibles. Yep, Halloween is here. Anya’s daughter will be Pebbles Flintstone (note: the teenaged version, not the baby), Emily tells me that her 15 month old niece will be a pumpkin, and I just may get into the spirit myself showing up here dressed different than normal on Monday morning. How to celebrate Halloween and kick off the days ahead in which only the coolest of the cool drink Rosé? How ’bout by offering a solid 20% off full case purchases of the 2010 Château d’Or et des Gueules Rosé Cimels? The line forms just after me. – Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me with questions or comments on today’s disaster at Stamford Bridge, my next song, or why only cool people drink Rosé during months with “R’s”: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Costieres de Nimes, French Wine, Nimes, Peter Zavialoff, Rose

Leave a Reply

