2009 Château Calabre Bergerac Rouge Part Deux

Happy Mothers’ Day! Wow! How’d it get to be the middle of May already? I was just telling Chris that it’s been over a month since I returned from Bordeaux, but it feels like it’s been just a few days. Matter of fact, 2 different groups of customers visited the shop today asking me if I “just got back?” With all that’s been going on,it sure feels that way.

There’s so much that went on this year in Bordeaux, I’ll try to keep you up on it all as we go along. Pricing for many of the 2011 Futures for the petits châteaux has been released already, and we have begun to see pricing from a handful of Cru Classé producers. Though hardly as effortless as the past 2 vintages have been, I did find many barrel samples to my liking and we will be purchasing those wines and offering them to you very soon! If there are any châteaux of particular interest to you, please don’t hesitate to send me an email, and we will do our best to source it.

My trips to Bordeaux are certainly not confined to just Bordeaux either. An explorer/traveler type by nature, I have visited Côtes de Bourg, Fronsac, Canon-Fronsac, Lalande de Pomerol, Sainte Foy la Grande, Graves, and I have always made a point of visiting Barsac/Sauternes each time I’m there. (Only this year, I just visited Barsac.) One trip that logs a lot of rental car kilometers is the one out past Bordeaux’s eastern frontier, beyond the Côtes de Francs to Montravel and Daniel Hecquet’s Château Calabre. This year I got to taste his 2010 reds, 2011 whites, and his 2009 Liquoreaux. I’m excited by what I tasted, and am looking forward to the wines’ arrival later this fall. In the mean time, one wine that came and went rather quickly was Daniel’s 2009 Château Calabre Bergerac Rouge. I remember being quite taken by it while tasting with Daniel in April of 2011, and even more so when the first pallet arrived last fall. It seems many of you were as taken by it as I was as a healthy inventory position seemed to evaporate quicker than ice cubes on a hot summer day in Chicago. It may still seem to me that I just got back from Bordeaux the other day, but one major event that has transpired since my return has been the arrival of a new container from France. On it is another pallet of Daniel Hecquet’s famous 2009 Château Calabre Bergerac Rouge.

It’s a blend of 60% Merlot, 20% Cabernet Sauvignon, and 20% Cabernet Franc, and it’s long on class yet short on price. Being a stone’s throw away from the “Bordeaux” appellation has blessed the wine with quality, yet being over the border keeps the price down which is a blessing to us wine consumers. It’s a bit of a no-brainer, really; all that quality in a bottle for less than $10 (case price), no wonder it sold out quicker than you can say, “I’ll take a case”!!??

Since I started typing, another customer just popped in and, no kidding, she asked me if I just got back from France – that makes 3! So yes, it still feels like I just got back, and I’ve lots to talk about. I will certainly be keeping you up on 2011 Bordeaux as we progress with the Futures campaign, and a WHOLE LOT of other stuff too! Happy Mothers’ Day!Peter Zavialoff

P.S. I will not be in the shop next Saturday, May 19th. Superstition forbids me to comment further, but I’m certain some of you know why. Please feel free to email me with any questions or comments about Bordeaux, Bergerac, 2011 Futures, or next Saturday: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Bergerac, Montravel, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

