2010 Michel-Andreotti Montagny les Guignottes

chardglassI like Chardonnay. Chardonnay and I have been friends for a long time. It’s difficult for me to think about Chardonnay and not think about the weekend that I discovered wine. Hours before my wine epiphany occurred, I was rubbing elbows with some real movers and shakers at a pre-dinner party. What was everyone drinking? Well, it was a warm June evening in St. Helena, so we were all sipping cool crisp Chardonnay. Something I rarely mention is that for my efforts that weekend, the late Lila Jaeger of Rutherford Hill Winery invited me into her cellar to choose “any 2 bottles you want”. Ah, missed opportunities!!! To be a respectful recipient, I chose a Rutherford Hill Merlot, but the other bottle may surprise you. Mayacamas Chardonnay. Yep, given the choice of anything in her cellar, I chose a California Chardonnay. There I’ve said it. You’ll never get me to confess as to who played at my first concert attended, but now you all know what my first 2 bottles of wine were. I have enjoyed Chardonnay ever since, but when I first tasted White Burgundy, I had another epiphany.
 

Working here at TWH for a few summers has given me the opportunity to taste some great White Burgundies made by some of the best producers. I’ve said it before, and I’ll keep saying it because it goes for me too, but one of Anya’s great quotes is, “If I were rich enough, I would drink White Burgundy EVERY day!” It is truly special wine, and I always appreciate having some in my glass. Well, thanks to David’s scouting efforts, he’s uncovered yet another gem-of-a-wine for a crazy low price that says, “Imported by Wine House Limited” on the back label: The 2010 Montagny Les Guignottes by producer Michel-Andreotti! It is a truly ethereal wine with a ridiculously low price. White Burgundy for less than $20, folks? You’re going to need to act swiftly because only for a short time will it be in-stock here at TWH!

montagny labelMichel-Ardreotti is not one person’s name. The domaine has been in Arlette Michel’s family for 3 generations, and she and her husband, Phillipe Andreotti have been running the estate since 1993. They’re located in the Côte Chalonnaise village of Montagny, where a dollar goes much further than it would, say, in Chassagne-Montrachet. It just goes to show you that if you look hard enough, it is possible to find sensational quality for a great price! The 2010 Montagny les Guignottes shows fresh and expressive aromas of white flowers, citrus blossoms, stony minerals, and a kiss of vanilla spice which takes you to the palate which is high-toned, marked by fresh crisp acidity. The harmony persists throughout the perfectly balanced finish. We’ve got a serious home run on our hands here. Don’t walk, run.
 

My colleague Chris was quick to notice and point out that something has changed here. His words: “Have you noticed Pete’s reactions to anyone who asks him how he’s doing?” My reactions have been different. I’m in sports heaven. The Blues of Chelsea are now European Champions. So when someone asks me how I’m doing, I think of all the frustrating exits from this, my favorite competition, and how sweet it was to have finally seen them win it. What hasn’t changed is that we’re still working hard, tasting away, seeking out the best wines for you all to enjoy! Case in point, the 2010 Michel-Andreotti Montagny les Guignottes.Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me with any questions or comments about Chardonnay, Bordeaux, or Champions’ League football: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under Cote Chalonnaise, Montagny, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

