2009 Domaine L’Aurage, Castillon

In the world of Bordeaux, there’s been a lot of fuss about the 2010’s lately. Well, why not? It’s a super vintage, and after the bottled wines made their way through North America earlier this year, they proved to be more charming than originally perceived. It’s part II of back-to-back legendary vintages for the region. The 2009’s were all about charm from the get-go. What a pleasure it has given me to put the many 2009’s in your collective hands and to hear about the joy and pleasure the wines have already provided you! There’s a pretty long list of the various 2009 red Bordeaux that I’ve recommended since I tasted them out of barrel 3 years ago. Your responses to those reco’s are what makes it all worth while!

I love hearing about your experiences with 2009 Bordeaux, but even when I’m not hearing it, I’m seeing it! Case in point: the 2009 Domaine L’Aurage, Castillon. As far as I know, since June of 2010, we’ve been the only US wine merchant with this wine!!! That’s way cool. That’s what I’m supposed to be doing when I go to Bordeaux each spring. Searching for, and finding wines just like this one. Many of you bought this wine on pre-arrival, and I’ve not only heard, but I’ve seen evidence that you’re all lovin’ it.It would take more than one hand to count how many customers have purchased a bottle or 2, and then have come back in and loaded up! The story’s a great one, as winemaker Louis Mitjavile is the son of François who owns and makes the wines of Tertre Roteboeuf. Apples don’t fall far from their trees, so if one wants to taste right-bank Bordeaux made in the Mitjavile style, and doesn’t want to pony up the $200+ that Tertre Roteboeuf can command, here’s a savvy way to do so. For more info, click here. Note: We don’t have a whole lot of it left, our apologies when it sells out.

Well, it’s that time of year again. All my bags are packed, I’m ready to go. My next Sunday ramble will come from a hotel room in Bordeaux. From the looks of things, I have a fuller, yet manageable schedule to work with. There’s a new bridge across the Garonne, that should help with the traffic. It should go without saying that it’s a treat to visit the famous chateaux, and tasting while visiting them is educational for my palate. But I will continue to keep my eyes open for the lesser known producers whose wines offer great value. My itinerary tells me that I will taste the 2012 L’Aurage on Friday afternoon, 12 April. My schedule also, as always, has room for the serendipitous 🙂 – Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me any questions or comments about your experiences with 2009 Bordeaux, the upcoming 2012 En Primeurs tastings, the disruption of football season due to International play, or serendipity: peter.winehouse@sbcglobal.net

Leave a comment

Filed under 2009 Bordeaux, Castillon, Peter Zavialoff

Leave a Reply

