2010 Domaine Alain Michelot Bourgogne Rouge


Isn’t it great when things come full circle? It happens a lot here at TWH. An example of the traditional route of things coming full circle here would be when we travel overseas, taste a slew of wines, make some decisions, purchase the wines that we like best, return home and wait until they finally make it here, and then we put them in your hands. That’s the traditional route. I was recently made aware of one further step to “full circle.” That’s when something we taste overseas makes it over here, a customer takes it home, and then a few years later, the customer pours it in a glass and hands it to me. Now that’s FULL circle! In an effort to put it out there to the universe, that’s what I am attempting to do here. If you buy this wine and don’t share it with me a few years down the road, I won’t mind, but just know that you will possess a wine that will provide pleasure for yourself and those who you do choose to share your wine with!


It should go without saying, but all of my close friends who like wine are TWH customers. That’s not a stretch. In fact, it was my best friend who tossed out this line to me before my first interview with David all those years ago: “Tell him you’ve got an order for a case of Bordeaux in your pocket if he hires you … if that helps.” Too cool, right? Well, this buddy of mine just got married last month, and the newlyweds threw a little shindig to celebrate at their home. Of course beverages were served and I was in charge of making sure that those who were drinking wine, myself included, were taken care of. The wines being served were selected before my arrival, and I was delighted to see 3 bottles of an old favorite on the table when I got there. When I took my first sip, I proudly smiled and silently celebrated the victory. I aspire to repeat this feat a few years down the road with the 2010 Bourgogne Rouge from Domaine Alain Michelot.


Red Burgundy can be pricey. Something that we strive to do, and succeed at, is finding wines of quality that aren’t pricey. We’ve been importing the wines from Michelot since the 1990’s; their nearly 8 hectares of vineyards are located in Nuits-Saint-Georges and Morey-Saint-Denis. The domaine dates back to the 1880’s, and Alain’s daughter Élodie represents the fifth generation running the show there. With a little bit of modern know-how, yet in keeping with the domaine’s traditional style, Élodie makes wine that expresses her respective terroirs. Her Premier Cru offerings have quite the following among Burgundy lovers and the 2010 vintage was outstanding, producing wines of substantial structure and expression, all with marvelous balance. The Premiers and Grands Crus will need lots of time in the cellar to show their best, but her Bourgogne is a more modest wine that can be enjoyed today or up to another 7 years down the road. It is a fuller-bodied Bourgogne, yet the fruit manages to stay in focus throughout the entire tasting experience. Serve it blind, and you may hear some guesses that it is a Nuits-Saint-Georges, as the fruit is sourced from vines in the south of the appellation. The wine is well worth the regular price of $28.99, but for this weekend only, starting now, it’s just $19.95 a bottle. This is going to sell out, and we apologize for that, but there’s a container about to land and we need the space!

So there you go; I’m putting it out to the universe. Actually, I was a little more proactive than that. I have what we call an “open order,” or the authorization to assign particularly good deals to some of my close friends. I’m hoping they can be patient enough to hang on to a few bottles of the 2010 Bourgogne Rouge from Domaine Alain Michelot for a party a few years down the road! – Peter Zavialoff
Leave a comment

Filed under Burgundy, Peter Zavialoff, Pinot Noir

Leave a Reply

