A Low Alcohol Summer White – 2015 Les Tours From Domaine La Hitaire


We interrupt this summer time to bring you … wait. It’s almost August. These are truly the dog days of summer. We all need to just chill. I don’t want to interrupt anybody’s summer. Relax. Have fun. Visit with friends. Visit with family. Travel. Repeat. This is what August is all about. No need for any deep thinking here. When I come home from work and start prepping dinner on a summer evening, I want something cool and crisp in my glass. Sure, I would love some Burgundy, but that’s special wine. Burgundy is better suited for company and more special an occasion than Monday night dinner prep. In order to have this bottle properly chilled by Monday night, I need to bring it home when I leave work on Saturday. The wine that I keep grabbing each Saturday so far this summer? The 2015 Les Tours from Domaine La Hitaire.


Do you remember Domaine de Pouy? Many of us have fond memories of Domaine de Pouy and the affordable quaffability it provided. I’ve heard many customers romanticize about how it “got me through grad school,” or “just pairs with everything.” Anya even served it at her wedding and also informed me that it was the cornerstone of The Dirty Dozen, as it was a consistent component during the DD’s early days. The Les Tours from Domaine La Hitaire is essentially the same wine as the Domaine de Pouy. Both labels are owned by the same family, formerly run by Yves Grassa, and are now in the hands of his two sons Rémy and Armin. Both wines are blends of Ugni Blanc, Colombard, and Gros Manseng. Both wines are delightfully light and crisp, and they both have that kiss-of-honey finish. They are the same wine.


Historically, the Gascogne region produces distillates, and the Grassa family’s bas-Armagnac is prized for its quality. The family thought high enough of the quality of their grapes to make wine from them as well, and what a service they have provided for us! Every now and then I peruse the wine selections when I’m shopping at supermarkets and grocery stores. In general, I haven’t found anything below $10 per bottle that give me any reason to revisit. That is why I’ve been leaving with a bottle of Les Tours every weekend. It’s a no-brainer white. It’s not an interruption; it’s delicious, inexpensive, and low in alcohol (10.5%).


Call it coincidence, but this coming Monday is the first of August. How kind of the calendar makers to give us back to back 31 day months in summer. However you plan to spend August 2016, we hope it is full of wonderful moments, great meals, your favorite people, and memorable wines. Please excuse this interruption. I tried to be brief. I could have just said, “2015 Les Tours from Domaine La Hitaire. It’s $9.17 per bottle by the case. It’s light, crisp, and delicious.” Happy summer!Peter Zavialoff

Please feel free to email me with any questions or comments about Domaine de Pouy, wines from southwest France, summer plans, or the upcoming football season: peter@wineSF.com

Leave a comment

Filed under Cotes de Gascogne, fish-fry wine, Peter Zavialoff, Southwest France

Leave a Reply

